Is It Just Me…

… or is the new WordPress set-up/interface/operation system/ whatever-you-freaking-call-it – I am so not technologically literate sometimes (thus, showing my age) – incredibly confusing,  though, once you get the hang of it, addictively fascinating?

I’m still not sure if I like the changes…

On the one hand, it took me forever to figure out how even create a new post. Not to mention that it appears that my cute world map showing my gains in world domination readership is gone. And that’s sad, because I really liked that map; I would get a kick out of seeing a brand new country colored in and I thought it’d be awesome to see if it would ever fill up completely. Imagine, my first visitor from like, Antartica, or something. And I really liked how the old Stats page just had everything, like, all laid out without the need to scroll around and stuff.

On the other hand, once I started poking around a bit, I found that I can do cool stuff, like look up my number of posts per month and how many views they got back in the day and other trivia, but while cool, I still don’t think they make up for the los of my map.

Anyway, sorry for the lack of ballet-related content in this post.  Better yet, let’s fix that; since my last class I’ve been working on my fondues to releve and they’re going great, as are my pique turns.  My passe releve is slowly – but surely – coming along as well, and my half-pirouettes are stable. Can’t wait until class tomorrow!

Next day edit w/ pictures!

old view

old view

new view

new view

6 thoughts on “Is It Just Me…

  1. Paulina

    I miss the map, too. I kept asking myself: who reads me in China or Burkina Faso and why does he/she? I guess the map is still somewhere around, but so far I was not able to find it.

    Reply
    1. kit Post author

      Yeah, there are some countries that I’ve gotten visits from that make me go “Really? I thought ballet (or any activity featuring people – especially ladies – in skin-tight clothing) would be, like, highly discouraged there, or the internet was censored or something.” Ahh, if only the search engines revealed what search led them there.

      Reply
  2. wedoballet

    Hey… I found it. Go to where it lists the countries and click on the title “countries” at the top of the box. BAM map. 🙂 Switch it to year first if you want to see all the stuff because you cant change the date range once you’re in there… I don’t think.

    Reply
    1. kit Post author

      Thanks for the heads up – found it! You’re right, you do have to choose the year before clicking on “countries”.
      The new map is based around the color green instead of red; makes it hard to differentiate between the countries, in my opinion. I updated the post with comparison pictures.

      Reply
      1. wedoballet

        Yeah, I agree… the grey-green is about as brilliant visually as it is logically. There’s almost no way to tell a “new” country because rarely appearing countries are so close to the blank color. It’s no my favorite.

Leave a Reply

