Pilates!

Today marks the beginning of Winter term at my college, the shortened 5 week session between the Fall and Spring terms.  And, as I mentioned previously, I would’ve loved to take ballet; it would’ve practically felt like a mini-intensive for me!  But, rather than dwell on why that’s not a possibility, I decided to enroll myself in something that will hopefully help in my ballet endeavours: Pilates.

(I used to (mis)pronouce Pilates as “Pie-lates”, which is kinda funny…)

This is my first time ever trying out Pilates, but several people have commented that it helps your body out so much, as far as getting a stronger core and increased flexibility. I’m really looking forward to see how this all works out.

Today was my first class. We mostly went over the syllabus, then worked on identifying a neutral pelvis position (something I need a lot of help with, as for most of my life I tucked my pelvis under and for the last few years been angling it outward hoping to remedy the tucking under) and proper breathing. It’s a daily course, due to the term’s shorter length, so we’ll probably be moving quickly from this point on.

So, wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Pilates!

    1. kit Post author

      Thanks. Our teacher said we will start with mat work and work up to working on the reformer. I heard returning student’s testimonials about how good it is for the body and I’m definitely intrigued…

      Reply
    1. kit Post author

      While reading that literally did make me wince – overactive imagination – at the same time it sounds so effective! In a “if it hurts this much it’s got to give results” kind of way. And I badly would like results…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

