The Dance Bag Challenge, Kit Edition

Questions in italics, answers in regular type. From http://www.welliesandpearlsandballetshoes.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/are-you-ready-for-the-dance-bag-challenge/   (oops, for whatever reason link doesn’t want to work – even though I could swear I have no typos…)

What’s in your dance bag and why?

Now that I get dressed for class at school rather than at home, a lot of stuff:

All the gear: leotards, tights, leg warmers, slippers, hair supplies, brushes, and the bag in the background. Not pictured: tennis ball, theraband

All the gear: leotards, tights, leg warmers, slippers, hair supplies, brushes, and the bag in the background. Not pictured: tennis ball, theraband

2 leotards (I like to feel like I have options, I guess?), tights (2 pairs, an emergency pair that stays in the bag, and a pair that I’m planning on wearing), ballet slippers, extra pair of ballet slippers, extra sports bra, leg warmers, little cover-up  sweater, brush, small pouch containing: lots of bobby pins, hair elastics, hair nets, and ummmmm, “girl products” (really don’t want to get caught wearing leo and tights and nothing else without that…), theraband, tennis ball, water bottle, snack. Oh, and once I start going to drop-in Evening Class again, I should keep some cash in case I forget my wallet and can’t pay for my class again like that one time…

I keep spares of (almost) everything because I tend towards scatter-brainedness and forget my slippers on average once a week. You have no idea how many times I’ve been comfortably about to drift off to sleep and then it’s “Oh crap! I have to take my freshly washed leotard and tights off the shower curtain rod and put them in my bag so I don’t forget them tomorrow. But I don’t want to get up – what to do?”

At least if I know I have spares it helps me to relax a little (instead of staying up half the night worrying about it). All the hair-related stuff will ensure that I get – and keep – my hair in a proper ballet bun, instead of it flying around during turns.  A tennis ball and theraband are good to warm up, strengthen, or massage the feet.  Water and a snack are necessities.

Bun-making supplies! I recently switched it up to both straight bobby pins and these newer curled ones that hold better.

Bun-making supplies! I recently switched it up to both straight bobby pins and these newer curled ones that hold better.

Of course, if I forgot the whole bag at home I’d be screwed. Lately I’ve been thinking about having a back-up dance bag that stays in the car at all times…

Where did you get your bag and how long have you been using it?

Funny story: The day that I first bought my ballet gear – at least my very first leotard, slippers , and (now long-dead) tights – was the same day that I picked up my textbooks for the semester. I went by the dance store right after finishing up with my classes for the day, and when it came time to put away the ballet stuff, so that I wouldn’t forget it the next day, I stuck it in the textbook’s bag.  The pretty pink dance bag store ripped fairly quickly, but I noticed the textbook’s bag was super durable. A dance bag was born!

(Just realized I didn’t answer the question until later – at the school bookstore and for 2 years.)

Is there anything dance-related you keep in your bag at all times?

All the stuff listed in the first question is in my bag at all times (except while it’s getting washed. Then only the spares would be.)

Is there anything you keep in your bag for good luck?

Actually, no. Now I’m thinking maybe I should…

If your bag had a name what would it be?

Oh gosh, I don’t know…I am terrible at naming things.

“Name me!” says the still-unnamed bag, pictured here with a theraband.

How badly does your bag smell right now?

It smells lovely 🙂 No, seriously, when I get home I immediately take out the slippers I wore that day to air them out. And since I don’t change again after class, but wear my ballet gear home, it doesn’t sit in my bag to stink it up and doesn’t wind up in the bag again until it’s been washed and aired out.  (And according to one of my classmates, my homemade lotion smells like cupcakes, so yeah, yummy…)

If there is anything you could change about your bag and its contents, what would it be?

If there was an unlimited supply of leotards that sprouted out of it, that would be nice 🙂 Or if it had magical ballet-powers that would make me a good dancer that’d be even better…

Anything else you want to mention?

Yeah: when we started our relationship two years ago I never dreamed we’d make it this far. Here’s to many more years of our dance bag-dance student partnership!

An outtake with my cat Mudgey, reponsible for destroying my first ever pair of pink tights

An outtake with my cat Mudgey, reponsible for destroying my first ever pair of pink tights

23 thoughts on “The Dance Bag Challenge, Kit Edition

    1. kit Post author

      YES! If I had magical ballet powers I would jump up so high, and beat my feet like ten times before coming back down. And every pirouette would be a perfectly stable triple – no, screw that – quadruple with the cleanest landing ever! 🙂

      Reply
      1. kit Post author

        Well yeah, I’d settle for at least one good pirouette as well… but I figured since magic was involved I might as well aim big!

      2. balletbrit

        Maybe my tights could have “magical powers” like stopping me from getting dizzy while spotting when doing turns!!!! Interesting leg warmers, Kit!!! Check your email…balletbrit.

      3. kit Post author

        Tights have magical powers – if you BELIEVE hard enough, lol!
        I love leg warmers. Off to check my email now, thanks for the reminder 🙂

      4. kit Post author

        LOL, keeping up with email more often than every other day is waaaay too complicated for me… but I’ll pass on a magical email machine. Just dancing magic for me… if I don’t lose hope that is

      5. balletbrit

        Or maybe I could call on my “magical tights, ballet slippers, AND leg warmers!!! LOL!!! There’s a reply waiting for you, my ballet friend…

    1. kit Post author

      LOL, when I (used to) get dressed at home, I would do that too. Had my leotard, tights, and li’l sweater on under some sweats or something, hair already in a bun, and I would just stuff my shoes in my (pretty large) purse and I was set to go. The dance bag is more for days when I’m away from home all day prior to dance class…

      Reply
      1. Joyce

        Lol on most days I just wear my leotard to work because of laziness and then have to get naked to pee all day long. I think a dance bag would actually be easier! My slippers actually live in my giant purse though. My purse…does smell funky.

      2. kit Post author

        LOL, carrying a pair of ballet shoes everywhere – that’s hardcore! On the colder months I was more than happy to wear my dancewear under my regular clothes all day to keep warm (until I realized that yes, I would have to get naked to pee… not fun).

  1. Wellies&Pearls

    I love this :)!!! I’m so happy I’m not the only person who needs spares/emergency backups of everything! ~Meghan

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Dance Bag Challenge Follow Up | wellies and pearls and ballet shoes

    1. kit Post author

      Don’t forget the magical ballet powers LOL!
      (of course, referring to what I would like to change about the bag…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

