Score So Far: Left-2, Right-0

Revolutions, that is…

But yes, today in class I did a double (en dehors, from fourth) pirouette to the left – two of them, in fact. I’d been noticing that I felt like I still had momentum when coming out of a single, so I figured ‘why not? just go for it!’. It worked – yay! Pirouettes to the right still limping along, of course.

Well, I guess that’s not exactly right – I did land one or two singles out of the dozens that I attempted to the right. When compared to my higher rate of full pirouettes to the left though, it leaves me feeling very lopsided. My balances still feel much more stable on my left foot, and my retire position is also much more turned out on my right side, so still no idea why I struggle with turns to this side so much.

I have been focusing on just going up and balancing and letting my spot and arms be the only things that provide the momentum for the turn, which did help me feel more stable. Perhaps I just need to practice more – R Teacher told us that improving at pirouettes is just a matter of practice, practice, practice. And I do tend to under-practice things that I suck at (like pirouettes to the right vs to the left)…

At least now when NS Teacher asks us to do ‘a double or triple’ I actually have a fighting chance to one side.

In other random ballet news, I’ve found out that it’s actually harder for me to choreograph a short piece now than when I was way much more beginner. It makes no sense: before I always though ‘when I get better I’ll be able to do cooler stuff, and maybe actually dance like I do in my head’, and now it’s all ‘no! sloppy, not good enough!’ even though it’s at a level that I thought was utterly impossible a couple of years ago.

Looks like it’s time to break out the recording of my first choreographic attempt for some perspective.

 

9 thoughts on “Score So Far: Left-2, Right-0

  1. Trippmadam

    I noticed that I am a lot more critical of myself now that I know (more or less) what I am doing. Probably this is a good thing, but the innocence and courage of the beginning choreographer is gone.

    Reply
      1. Trippmadam

        Oh, and by the way, if you are interested: I wrote a short blogpost in English about my difficulties with choreography: https://t.co/Qdq0d0wnDt
        I plan to write in English occasionally about my dance experience, and I will post the links to those blog entries on twitter. So, just in case: on twitter I am @trippmadam. (Shameless self promotion…)

  2. ladyintweed

    I’m more stable on one side and flexible on the other too, and so are most of the adult beginners that I know. Interestingly we’ve been taught the opposite for pirouettes, momentum should come from your releve (and spotting) only with your arms keeping your core held and you on balance!

    Reply
    1. kit Post author

      My teachers have said that while the momentum comes from the releve and spotting primarily, one school of ballet (I forgot which…) turns with the help of the arm that is open coming to join the other arm in middle fifth (or first, depending on the school). But they did specify that this does not mean to twist the body or fling it, just to imagine the arm closing to make a circle with the other while keeping our lats and core, etc. held firmly.
      She then said that a different school of ballet sees it more as bringing the shoulder around (while still keeping the back/lats and core held and no twisting) and had us try some pirouettes with no arms at all so we could see if we got feel for it.
      They may be saying a similar thing, just different wording. What I meant was that before I would (incorrectly) sort of throw myself into it hoping to get enough momentum, rather than pushing straight up against the floor with my releve.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

