DIY: Converting* Tights

*don’t know if what I made are called “convertible tights” or “stirrup tights” or what… I just know they started off tight-life as generic footed tights and now they’re…not.

Anyway.

As I wrote in my last post, I was having a little dilemn/ma [oh my gosh, I looked up how to spell this word while writing this post and found this site, http://www.dilemna.info that will just blow your mind if you’re into that sort of stuff, which I am] about what to wear for class – all my tights are footed and I discoverd I like the feel of bare skin against my pointe shoes. Teacher was kind enough to tell me about the tight-surgery they used to perform in her school or company, so I figured I’d give it a go. I found a pair of my most used-looking tights (in other words, full of runs, holes, and probably long considered unwearable to any non-dancer), and went at them with some scissors.

The results are not pretty – it was my first try, after all – but I wore them for class today and they worked out great for pointe barre. Of course, since they’re not actual convertible tights, I still had to wear socks over them once I changed back into slippers. To be fair, I don’t actually know firsthand how convertible tights feel, so for all I know I would feel like have to wear socks over those too…

image

Before and after

I used a BodyWrappers tights for this experiment  project because, in addition to being my most, frankly, messed up looking pair of tights, at the toes and heels they appear to be… let’s see how to describe this… not reinforced necessarily but… like the weaving is going at a perpendicular pattern to the rest… I guess that’s the best way I can put it? Anyway, this made me think – correctly apparently – that if I cut within that area it wouldn’t turn the tights into one long run. So far I’ve only done this to tights that have this distinction, so no idea if it would work with a different brand.

Teacher told me that they would leave a strip of tights material to go between the 1st and 2nd toe, so I left a thin strip (I’d say around a 3/4 inch when the fabric is unstretched, but if I had to do it again I’d leave about twice that, for aesthetic reasons) when I cut off the toe section. I also cut off the heel, leaving a thin border of the material.

Top view. The stirrup-y thing (in toe socks, because there's no way I'm showing my ugly toes online LOL)

Top view. The stirrup-y thing (in toe socks, because there’s no way I’m showing my ugly toes online LOL)

And a side view of the heel

And a side view of the heel

And in shoes

And in shoes

As you can see, the ankle hole shows quite a bit of skin, and while the instep is covered, I think while actually dancing the top may come untucked (I couldn’t tell during class because I was wearing skintight legwarmers). So as far as performing or anything where a neat look is needed, these need some  work. But like I said, it was my first attempt!

Leave a Reply

