Quotes Challenge!

Earlier this week, I nominated myself (lol) for DorkyDancing’s (at http://www.dorkydancing.com) 3 days, 3 quotes challenge, but I’m also tweaking the rules a little: 1 post, 9 quotes (sorry if that ruins the effect), and if anyone reading wants to nominate themselves, please do 🙂

I didn’t really know where to go with this, but I thought it sounded like fun. That said, these are some quotes that I find meaningful, relatable, that I’ve either pondered on or that have helped me enjoy life to it’s fullest. As this is mostly a ballet/dance blog, I decided to start off with some dance-related ones, but the rest are out there ’cause I’m weird like that. I’m not going to apologize for myself and the way I am, but just thought I’d give a heads up on that. Anyway, hope someone finds these inspiring, thought-provoking, or both.

1 “In another life i could fly, so in this one I dance” – Tara, Dance Academy episode 1.

When I first started watching this show, this quote jumped out at me. It immdiately sucked me in, which is rare for a tv show, and it remains my go-to for dance-related entertainment (with the exception of, you know, actually watching a ballet…

2 “And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

While I like the reference to dancing – and sometimes do find myself dancing to music in my head, perhaps appearing insane to everyone else – to me this quote has a deeper meaning – that one’s actions can be nonsensical to someone who doesn’t understand our motivations.

3 “When you are not practicing, remember, someone somewhere is practicing, and when you meet him, he will win.” – Ed Macauley

This quote can come across as ultra competitive, but I find it both motivational and comforting. Motivational because it’s a remininder to practice when I’m being a procrastinator, and comforting because I realize and accept that I don’t practice as much as humanly possible, and therefore I can’t rationally expect “to win” (whatever that means) at whatever I’m doing which takes off the pressure that I sometimes put on myself. And this doesn’t just neecessarily apply to dance; I actually first came across this quote on a syllabus for a trigonometry class, but find it applies to pretty much everything.

4 “Open your heart; your mind will follow” – unknown, possibly misheard. I guess this is my version of “free your mind and the heart will follow” which is apparently a quote that previously existed. Well, I like my version better and believe it to be true; I believe a closed heart can get in the way of our mind functioning at our full potential.

5 “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself” – Franklin D Roosevelt

Without going into any detailed explainations I’ll just say I believe this one to be literal truth. I just wish that I didn’t keep forgetting this…but I’m getting better at remembering.

6 “In a futile attempt to erase our past, we deprive the community of our healing gift. If we conceal our wounds out of fear and shame, our inner darkness can neither be illuminated nor become a light for others.”
~Brennan Manning

I actually came across this quote very recently (like, during this week kind of recent) but it was one of those moments when I was like ‘yes! that’s it!’. Anyway, it’s really personal – more personal than I’ve gotten on this blog, but let’s just say I’ve had a lot of personal growth in the last half-decade and when I look back to where I was ten years ago I am astounded. However, even though I have faced up to my (many) mistakes and tried to rctify what I can, I do carry a sense of shame about my past. But I have come to the realization that our past – however regretable at times – when contrasted with our present can seerve to give hope to those who are struggling whre w once were. Or something…since I’m not trying to get too philosophical here.

7 “Long is the road, and hard, which out of hell leads to light” – John Milton, Paradise Lost

Similar to my thoughts on the last quote actually…let’s just say that I feel like I’ve had to go through hell in order to finally emerge out the other side. It’s ben a long, hard road, but worth it.

8 “Reality is an illusion, albeit a persistent one” – Albert Einstein

Another one that I believe to be literally true…but I won’t be getting into that right now.

9 “If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, Infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things thro’ narrow chinks of his cavern.” – William Blake

I see this as an explaination for the previous quote. Once again, beyond the scope of this blog, but a quote I love.

And there you go. Now I guess anyone reading it can get a better picture of where my thoughts are when I’m not obsessing about ballet. Perhaps this will better explain why something as difficult as ballet, which requires such an extreme amount of focus and obsession dedication is actually an escapist activity for me.

(Here’s to hoping I don’t feel too vulnrable and have posting regret and tak this down/make it private)

9 thoughts on “Quotes Challenge!

  1. Sarah Doudna

    I love your quotes and commentary and even felt some illumination about my own life. If it helps you feel less vulnerable, all I really learned is that you have a past, and that you’re human. I would hope so on both accounts!

    Reply
  2. asher

    Thank you for this, Dorky! These quotes all speak to a lot of the stuff I’m wrangling right now, anyway, and I suspect that’s probably true for many of us.

    I was talking with my therapist yesterday about the idea of things being “out of scope” in my dance blog, and ultimately we reached the conclusion that dance is art, and that since the difficult and awkward and terrible and dark pieces of our lives inform our art, they’re not really out of scope after all (even if our art never gets further than the studio or the kitchen or what have you).

    Moreover, an artist who reveals her struggles in her work is like a beacon* on a hill that says to other strugglers, “This too is part of living, and we can survive.”

    *Lest I write an entire comment without inappropriate humor, Autocorrupt suggested “bacon on a hill,” and I immediately thought, “Well, that would be pretty inspiring to a lot of people, too…”

    Reply
    1. kit Post author

      Bacon on a hill! That made me giggle… I love a good typo or autocorrupt.
      Anyway, I agree with your conclusion. I can definitely see how my struggles have both directly and indirectly influenced my artistic work (if I may call it that). And you’re right, it’s a part of living and it shows we can survive.

      Reply
    1. kit Post author

      Well, in a way it’s accurate, because I was doing Dorky’s quote challenge. Sometimes autocorrupt is full of hidden wisdom…

      Reply
      1. asher

        Good point! I’m guessing it chose that because I swype “Dorky” way more often, maybe? Sometimes I begin to think my tablet is at least a little bit self-waste 😀

Leave a Reply

